One Lovely Blogger Award

2 Oct

OK – so I’ve been awarded the One Lovely Blogger Award, but I’ve been having a hard time coming up with seven (interesting) facts about myself.  Here’s my modest attempt at this task.  And like Lisa, I need more blog friends to nominate!

 

I am a workaholic.  No doubt I will perish either at work, or face down in a stack of homework.  I cannot conceive of retiring – ever.

I ask a lot of questions.  Did you notice this already?  Do you often feel like you’re being interviewed when we talk?  Does it bug you?  Should I stop now?

I like to cook.  I like to try weird new food.  When I go to a restaurant, I’ll order something I’ve never had, if I can.  My family does not embrace this philosophy, and dreads when I get a new cookbook – unless it’s The Giant Book of Cookie Recipes.

The Universe is a funny place.  It makes me laugh.  Like the week my shopping list included: hamster food, mouse traps, sledgehammer.  You just can’t make this stuff up.

I can sew, draw, paint and make stuff that works.  This week my kid and I knit a hat.  It’s a good hat, despite the fact that neither of us knew how to knit before we started.

Most people fall into the category of optimists or pessimists.  I’m a poptimist.  I’m absolutely certain my car will break down again, and I’m absolutely certain someone will stop to help push me off the road and let me use their cell phone to call a tow truck.

I have a collection of Star Trek stuff.  Blinking spaceship Christmas ornaments that talk in Borg and Klingon, a lunch box, a Jim Kirk action figure complete with phaser and tribbles, a CD of Shatner and Nemoy singing duets, a Cardassian coffee mug, biographies, books, movies, games.  Everything I need to know about life, I learned from Star Trek.  Go boldly, my friends.

19 Responses to “One Lovely Blogger Award”

  1. Chrissey Harrison October 2, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

    Thoroughly deserved. Here, here!
    Can we see a picture of the hat?

    • jdwaye October 2, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

      Hey Chrissey! I’ll send you a picture of that hat.

  2. T. James October 2, 2011 at 8:32 PM #

    Star Trek Rules! I’ve seen all the TV episodes and movies. My life is not complete though… I have no tribble cuddly toy… *sigh*. As a teenager I fancied the green woman that Kirk pulled, and watched as he shot rubber aliens with a bow and arrows.

    Liked the Next Gen, but enjoyed Kirk’s practical approach more… Every man should marry someone who likes Star Trek… I did 🙂

    • jdwaye October 2, 2011 at 9:06 PM #

      A tribble cuddly toy…. hmmm… I bet I could make one. Yup – even have some fake fur in the basement.

      My favourite episode was when Spock lost it and fell in love because of the plant spores… hmmm… wonder where I got the idea for Tiger Lilies from?

  3. Marianne Su October 2, 2011 at 9:07 PM #

    Funny about the hat. My daugther just yesterday announced she wanted to knit. NO IDEA where that came from. It’s like how she knows what an iron looks like…things she picks up that don’t come from home. Anyway, about the knitting, I was about to send her to her grandmother, but if you can do it…

    Thx for the post…it was just what I needed tonight.

    • jdwaye October 2, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

      Kids are funny like that. My daughter did the same thing – just randomly decided she wanted to knit. She knew I had a stash of wool from when we made pom pom creatures. So now she’s got a hat, and another one on the way, but this one will be stripes.

  4. Gareth October 3, 2011 at 1:25 AM #

    Ah but JD, do you own a copy of:

    Hope you like it and it gives you a chuckle.

    The worst thing is my shopping list will shortly include:
    2 kitchen bins (one of cardboard, one for plastic to accompany my usual one.
    Disposable Paint clothes cover
    Plastic floorsheet
    Tape

    Sounds weird when you write some things down but its all completely innocent.

    • jdwaye October 3, 2011 at 6:47 AM #

      OMG – why have I never seen this before? It’s hilarious!

  5. Anne Michaud October 3, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

    Dianne ♥ You ARE one lovely blogger ♥ Very well deserved ♥

    • jdwaye October 5, 2011 at 10:38 AM #

      Thanks, Anne. You make me smile.

  6. Natalie Westgate October 3, 2011 at 6:05 PM #

    😮 I’m actually jealous of the Kirk action figure complete with tribbles! I have some Star Trek paraphernalia too and when I was in my teens I taught myself basic Klingon lol. Hmm maybe I shouldn’t be admitting that in writing.

    😀

    • jdwaye October 5, 2011 at 10:36 AM #

      Admitting it is the first step – LOL. Kirk looks so handsome in his green dress uniform, with the gold braid.

  7. Patricia Hollett October 3, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

    What an intriguing and well thought out post Di! You are a lovely blogger! It sounds like you’re very grounded and look at everything in the best possible way. A very nice post!

    • jdwaye October 5, 2011 at 10:34 AM #

      Thanks Pat. Looking forward to reading more of your blog. You sure had a hot topic last week! Well said.

  8. Angela Addams October 3, 2011 at 7:31 PM #

    I’m a workoholic as well…other than that, you and I have nothing in common 😉 lol…but I commend you for all of your amazing talents and quirks!

    • jdwaye October 5, 2011 at 10:33 AM #

      But I like hanging out with people different than me! LOL!

  9. bookwormgirls123 November 12, 2016 at 11:35 AM #

    I ask a lot of questions too! Sometimes I feel like it’s annoying, but that’s just how I am. 🙂
    -Amy

    • J D Waye November 20, 2016 at 10:43 AM #

      Questions are good. They are how we learn. Never stop questioning things. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

