Seriously Cute Blogger Award

28 Aug

My delightfully dark genius writer friend Anne Michaud honored me with this award.  Where would I be without her?  Blogless – in fact!

Puppy Club rules are:

1st RULE: You do not talk about Puppy Club.

2nd RULE: You DO NOT talk about Puppy Club.

3rd RULE: You talk about 5 books/films/TV shows you’ve read or watched in the last 12 months.

So here’s my list of five books/films/TV shows I’ve read or watched in the last 12 months.  I don’t watch much TV except for 60 Minutes and whatever event Anderson Cooper just happens to be covering, so I’ll stick to movies and books.  Now Anne’s already covered The Fire in Fiction by the glorious Donald Maass.  So I can’t go on and on about how much I love that book.  Or can I?

1)      The Fighter.  Stranger than fiction story-line about boxer “Irish” Micky Ward.  Great soundtrack, by the way.  Gotta love the reintroduction of the word “skank” into the popular vocabulary.  Oscars all around, if I had a say in the matter.

2)     Old Man’s War.   I couldn’t get past chapter one, the first time I picked it up.  It simply hurt too much to continue.  John Scalzi’s a master of sci-fi.  If there was a book I wish I wrote myself, this would be the one.

3)     Into Thin Air.  This gripping story about the 1996 Everest disaster, told from the inside, leaves no room for ego.  Jon Krakauer tells it from the heart.  Sometime I had to put the book aside, to consider that what was happening was real.

4)     Stardust by Neil Gaiman.  Not ashamed to say the end made me cry like a little baby.  Original, poetic, sexy, and smart.  And also a great movie (with a very young Ben Barnes).

5)     Dorian Gray.  Modern remake of the 1891 classic Oscar Wilde horror.  Don’t forget that book landed him a jail sentence.  Talk about suffering for your art.  The movie stars the wonderful Colin Firth as Wotton, corrupting a dashing Ben Barnes – as Dorian – on the art of seducing old ladies (‘nuf said) and everybody else.  Is it any good?  I’ll watch it one more time, and let you know…

11 Responses to “Seriously Cute Blogger Award”

  1. Gareth August 28, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

    Hey Dianne,
    LOL, I’m a Scalzi fan as well and I have to say that for me that is his best book (that I’ve read.) I also loved the bit in Stardust where a certain Captain got the nod from a certain other well to do resident from Wall. LOL

    Nice to see the noms continuing and some great background on you.

    • jdwaye September 1, 2011 at 6:36 PM #

      Hey Gareth – I love your blog and I’m looking forward to my next book-shopping trip. You’ve given me lots of great ideas.

  2. Anne Michaud August 28, 2011 at 10:28 PM #

    Oh Di, you know how much I agree with all of your choices – especially Gaiman and Firth, whom are my husbands number 45 and 23 respectivelly:)

    • jdwaye September 1, 2011 at 6:35 PM #

      So hard to choose between them! When in doubt, pick both.

      • Gareth September 2, 2011 at 8:04 AM #

        I think Mae West said it best:
        I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it, three times to make sure.

  3. Chrissey Harrison September 1, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    I love your almost unhealthy obsession with B2 😛

    When are you going to finish your edits so you can call in that signed photo I promised you?

    • jdwaye September 1, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

      “Almost” unhealthy? LOL! I’ll never finish editing – not until it goes to press. But you can get me that signed photo any time. I think I deserve it.

  4. Angela Addams September 1, 2011 at 6:57 PM #

    I love Stardust! It’s a great book and a great movie – I also really want to see The Fighter – mainly for Marky, Mark…yum…but every time it comes on the movie channel I can’t devote the time…maybe when the little one goes to school. Sigh…

    • jdwaye September 1, 2011 at 9:23 PM #

      You’ve got to see this movie… uninterrupted! It was great seeing it in the theatre – the crowd reaction was amazing. It’s been a long time since I’ve heard an audience applaud at the movies.

  5. T. James September 2, 2011 at 10:08 AM #

    All five a new to me… I shall put them on my “ones to watch for” list. Thanks for the recommendations.

  6. phoenixfirewolf September 6, 2011 at 2:07 PM #

    Oh, some good stuff there.

    Julie/Firewolf

Leave a Reply

